Font Size 

Planning Panels


Lane Cove Local Planning Panel

The Lane Cove Local Planning Panel (LCLPP) is a panel of appropriately qualified people independent of Council charged with determining a range of development applications and providing advice on Planning Proposals on behalf of Council. This Panel replaced the previous Independent Hearing and Assessment Panel (IHAP) in February 2018.

The Panel deals with applications which meet the NSW Government's mandated referral criteria for Development Applications and Planning Proposals

Local Planning Panel Meetings

Each meeting includes four members comprised of the permanent chairperson, The Hon David Lloyd QC (with Mr Mark Gifford & Ms Louise Byrne as alternate Chairs), a rotating community member and two members who represent each of the expert fields of: architecture, urban design or planning and the environment. 

The meeting format for the Panel consists of an on-site inspection followed by a public panel meeting, with an open forum for interested persons and groups to hear submissions about the development proposal. 

Meetings are held in the Lane Cove Council Chambers at 48 Longueville Road, Lane Cove. It should be noted that the in-person Panel meetings are webcast with speakers to attend in-person. In the event that meetings are required to be held via audio visual link community members will be able to register to speak via the online link. 

To enable the Panel Chair to accommodate all people wishing to address the Panel, intending speakers are required to register with the Panel Secretariat prior to the meeting. Community members will be afforded 3 minutes to address the panel and in the case of a representative of a community organisation or association 10 minutes.

A closed panel session is then held for the panel to deliberate before announcing the determination to the public. The determination includes a written response from the Panel which will be uploaded to Council’s website outlining the reasons for the decision.

The LCLPP meets as required on the first Tuesday of the month, commencing with an onsite inspections from 3pm. The public panel meeting and open forum commencing at 5:00pm will be held at the Lane Cove Council Chambers, 48 Longueville Road, Lane Cove.

You can view the Local Planning Panel Agendas and Minutes online.

The current members are:

​Community Representatives
Hon David Lloyd, KC
​Mr Kevin Hoffman
​Ms Mary Rawlings
​Mr Mark Gifford
​Mr Robert Montgomery
​Ms Jane Blackmore
​Ms Louise Byrne
​Mr Michael Mason
​Ms Maria Linders
​Mr Eugene Sarich
​Ms Melanie Naidoo
​Ms Lindsey Dey
​Mr Ian Longbottom
​Mr David Johnson
​Mr David Risbey
​Mr Steve Fermio
​Mr Graham Brown
​Mr Ian Stapleton

​Mr Michael Ryan

​Ms Kim Crestani

​Ms Lisa Bella Esposito

​Mr David Ryan

​Mr Jason Perica

​Ms Susan Hobley

Sydney North Planning Panel

The Sydney North Planning Panel (SNPP) is a panel of appropriately qualified people independent of Council charged with the following roles:

  • Determine regionally significant development applications;
  • Act as the Planning Proposal Authority (PPA) when directed;
  • Undertake Rezoning Reviews;
  • Provide advice on other planning and development matters when required; and
  • Determine site compatibility certificates under SEPP (Housing for Seniors or People with a Disability) 2004.

Further information on the role of Sydney Planning Panels is available via the NSW Planning Portal. Specific information on the composition and jurisdiction of the Sydney North Planning Panel is available here.

Lane Cove Design Review Panel

Lane Cove Council encourages good Urban Design and Architecture in the local government area.

The Lane Cove Design Review Panel provides advice informing Council's development assessment process. The Panel reviews Development Applications and provides advice in relation to including but not limited to:

  • Residential Flat Buildings, and any other developments where it is considered that the proposal is likely to benefit from design review.

It should be noted that in relation to the St Leonard's South Precinct a Design Excellence Panel provides a review of development applications having regard to Part 7 of the Local Environmental Plan. 

The Design Review and Design Excellence Panels are advisory only.

The Panel is made up of a pool of qualified professionals, independent of Council, with expertise in architecture, landscape architecture, urban design and sustainability.

The current Panel members are:

​Peter St Clair (Chairperson)

​Emili Fox
​Brendan Randles
Urban Design/​Architecture
​Aldo Raadik
​Urban Design/Architecture
​Michael Harrison
​Urban Design/Architecture
​Alex Halliburton
Landscape ​Architecture
​Elina Braunstein
​Urban Design
​Ben Jones
​Sam Crawford
​Stephen Collier
​Urban Design/Architecture
​Digby Hall
​Jason Cuffe
Landscape ​Architecture
​Tony Leung
​Lucinda Varley
​Landscape Architecture/Sustainability
​Timothy Williams
​Urban Design/Architecture