Font Size 

​The Political System


​Local Government in Australia is based on the principle of representative democracy. This means that the people elect representatives to their local Council to make decisions on their behalf. In New South Wales, local government elections are usually held every four years on the second Saturday in September. 

Lane Cove Council is divided into three electoral districts called Wards. Voters elect three Councillors from each ward (a total of nine Councillors) for a four-year term. All residents are eligible to vote. Property owners who live outside of the area may register their intention to vote on the non-residential roll.

Council encourages residents to raise issues with their elected Councillors. Councillors can pursue matters on residents' behalf ensuring that their viewpoints are considered in the development of policies.

The latest Local Government Election was held on Saturday 4 December 2021 and information about the elected Councillors can be found on Council's website.