Literary Award Winners Announced

Published on 16 November 2023

Four winners of the 2023 Lane Cove Literary Awards stand next to each other holding their certificates.

The winners of the Lane Cove Literary Awards 2023 were announced at a ceremony on Wednesday 15 November. 

The Lane Cove Literary Awards is a prestigious national writing competition organised by Lane Cove Council that recognises writing excellence and fosters Australian writing talent. Australian writers over 16 years of age are invited to submit unpublished works.

Drumroll please...

The winners of this year's Awards are:

Short Story Prize: The Cuckoo’s Nest by Andrea McMahon
Poetry Prize: Song is the Solitude by T.A.R Wallace
Theatre Script Prize: Early Morning by Kevin Nemeth
The Burns Bay Bookery Resident Prize: Shakespeare, Who Art Thou? by Paulene Turner
Be Your Own Boss Youth Prize: The Calm by Arlea Whelan
Wise Sage Prize: What is Colour? by Pippa Kay

Pictured, left to right: Andrea McMahon, Paulene Turner, Pippa Kay and T.A.R Wallace